Memories are forever?

It was Homelab upgrade time and I decided to max out one of my servers with the full 128GB. These ASRock Rack X470D4U boards have worked out incredibly well in the lab and continue to delight. In this case it was due them working so well with the AMD desktop CPUs, that I was able to get 128GB of DDR4 ECC ram working at 3200MHz without any problems on a Ryzen 2700 CPU.

While it’s not on the memory QVL list for this board, I can happily report that Kingston Server Premier KSM32ED8/32HC dimms will work just fine and let you get the most from your board, should you need it.

If you are wondering why so much ram? Well, I felt like taking VMware’s Cloud Foundation platform for a spin to see how it had matured, and, well, it’s a tiny bit memory hungry what with being a complete cloud hosting platform.
So, this upgrade was the answer and I should have no problem in installing it and getting it running in my homelab now. And I’ll have plenty of memory for whatever else I want to deploy on this server over its many years of service to come, as I can always upgrade that Ryzen 2700 to a 5000 series CPU and keep this investment viable for quite some time.

Leave a comment